A holiday from the pain

chairs

Last weekend I went away to the seaside for four days with friends and noticed an immediate decrease in my bladder pain and burning, even frequency, while I was enjoying a mini vacation. I was sleeping long and uninterrupted every night, waking up without an alarm, and eating slowly and mindfully a lot of good wholesome food, including raw fruit and veggies. I know the meditation and yoga I did in the mornings before the others were up, as well as the hikes in the hills, and the total quiet we had for four days, had a big part in relaxing me and making my IC symptoms decrease. Or was it just that being so relaxed and free of anxiety made the pain seem less intense?

Whatever the case, studies show 40 per cent of women suffering from long-term stress develop at least one health problem, including chronic pain. It’s obviously important to deal with stress and anxiety for the sake of your health.

I’ve found my living situation (a very noisy, full house) is one of my main sources of stress, so I’m going to move into a smaller place next month with just one roommate. I think that should help lower my stress level somewhat.

I’ve also taken a few other steps towards bladder health this week:

  1. As of last month I’ve totally avoided alcohol and caffeine and eaten more raw fruit and salads. I’ve also been taking daily supplements of aloe vera juice (60 ml) and N-acetylglucosamine (1,500 mg).
  2. I’ve asked my doctor for a referral to see a urologist. I’m going to ask to have a hyperoxaluria test done to see if a low oxalate diet would be a good idea.
  3. I got a prescription from my doctor for Valium, which I’ll have on hand to deal with acute anxiety.

Leave a comment