Yoga is awesome!

If you have IC you’re either someone who does yoga or someone who should be doing yoga. I’ve done it off and on for the last 12 years, but I hadn’t been to a yoga studio for more than a year until last weekend, when I got an unlimited week trial pass. I went to seven classes in seven days – and I can’t even explain how incredible it’s been to have that hour every day of true relaxation, in both body and mind. It felt like a micro-vacation, a time just for me every day to let go of my anxiety, and feel nourished and grounded and strong.

If you have chronic pain, meditation is a tried and true way to ease symptoms, since yoga is not just a physical exercise but also a full-body meditation.

yoga-alliance

Yoga can be done at home, but I find there’s that X-factor in a yoga studio that can’t be found anywhere else, not even outdoors. The space in a studio is quiet and safe – you know you won’t be interrupted during your practice – and the lighting is perfect, the rhythmic music is hypnotic, the scent of incense or aromatic candles is soothing, and the sound of the instructor’s voice is so helpful in getting into the flow of the class, going deeper into the  poses, and finding a sense of peace that’s just not possible anywhere else. It doesn’t matter what type of yoga – I tried a variety of classes this week – as long as you go with the intention of focus and patience.

I highly recommend investing the time and money in a yoga studio membership and giving it a solid try if you haven’t already. It may not directly ease your bladder symptoms, but it sure can’t hurt. And you’ll inevitably find you’re more able to deal with the pain outside of class in a more relaxed, zen way. I know it’s working for me, and after a much-needed four-day trip to the seaside today, I’m going to get a long-term membership and keep up this regular yoga practice for the sake of both my mental and physical health.

 

Leave a comment